The Dutch Sociologist: Me, Myself and Society

It has been quiet…

I’ve not been able to post on my blog for a couple of weeks now, but I have a valid reason for my absence. I really do.

As you all know I was doing research at a government agency, as a volunteer. I have been doing this since 2012. The reason for them not offering me a paid job is simple: they are admits a huge reorganization, due to which they aren’t allowed to offer anyone a job.

But here comes the valid reason for me being absent on my blog… It’s not the news I hoped to give you all, but hey! It is news, isn’t it? Okay, okay, I will not beat around the bush and just tell you.

Thanks to my work at the government agency since 2012, I have been noticed in a positive way and my job hunt story is known in the organization. This resulted in a temporary paid job.

Unfortunately, not in my field of work, but as a administrative co-worker. I’m absolutely not disappointed, since it got me out of the social welfare situation for the time being. Plus I got amazing colleagues, who make going to the office even more enjoyable. (let me not forget to mention the fact that there are a few cute-eye-candy-guys walking around at the office ;-))

The fact that my work is appreciated and that I’m receiving compliments on how fast I picked up the work I’m hired for, makes it worth getting up at 5.30 am, arriving at work at 7.00 am and leaving at 5.00 pm, every weekday.

Till the end of May I can enjoy this new routine of mine, I can only hope that there will be a new paid adventure for me soon after that…

Keeping you posted and ofcourse I will keep addressing social issues and ideas as soon as possible!

Leave a comment